Start of my baking adventure II~

After my pandesal blunder (I tried baking it twice using another recipe but it was still not that successful), I decided to try baking cakes. The first cake I made was banana bread. It was really easy and it tasted exactly what I had in mind. You see, when I was still in the Philippines I used to buy a “banana bread mix for toaster oven” because we didn’t have an oven at home (and my mom refused to buy one, and she won’t let me buy one because it will increase our electricity bills). So I had to settle for pre-mixed cake packages like this, that can be “toasted” or steamed. Of course, those “cakes” tasted like okay – nothing exciting. Not bad but hmmm…

So imagine my excitement when I got to own my oven for the first time. I bought all the equipment, tools and pans to start off my baking adventure.

 photo 10947225_10152510851182251_3068277276591135307_n_zpsoiwc0pwo.jpg

December 2015. Finally, my own oven!

Banana cake is a very easy bake cake. You cannot go wrong with it. (Unless you burn it, which I’m sure you won’t! 😀 ) It also calls for very little ingredients, things that you would already have in your pantry. And! If you have a week old banana sitting on your counter-top (that black spotted bananas) and you want to throw them out coz you don’t want to eat them, this should be your go-to-recipe. So here you go~ I hope you’ll give it a try.

Here’s the recipe I used for the banana cake:

 photo 10931299_10152538406677251_1301159695464223839_n_zpsjukmmypr.jpg

Ingredients:

270g cake flour (박력 밀가루)

2tsp baking soda

2tsp baking powder

4 large ripe bananas (the riper, the better)

4 eggs

225g sugar

120g canola oil

80g plain yogurt

How to make: (*note: I don’t have pictures because I made this pre-blogging days. Sorry!)

1. Start by sifting all the dry ingredients in a bowl. After sifting, whisk all the dry ingredients just to make sure that it is well incorporated.

2. In a separate bowl, whisk all eggs and oil.

3. In another bowl, mash the bananas using a fork.

4. Mix the mashed bananas, yogurt and egg & oil mixture.

5. Now back to the dry ingredients, make a well in the center then pour the wet ingredients. Mix well.

6. Pour the batter into a baking pan.

7. Bake at 160 C for 1 hour.

Tips:

  1. After 1 hour, poke a toothpick into the cake to check whether it is thoroughly cooked. If the toothpick comes out clean, it’s well cooked. Good job!
  2. Make sure to use at least a week old banana. Remember, the riper, the better. BUT don’t confuse this with a rotten banana 😀
  3. There are different types of flour in Korea.

– For cakes, use 1등 박력 밀가루. For those who cannot yet read Korean, just look for the flour package that has drawings or pictures of cookies, just like this one:

 photo 0900170000932_zpsjvylr9rp.jpg

You can buy this at any supermarkets. Some convenience stores have it too.

Leave a Reply

