LNY and Applecakes

Whew! The great Lunar New Year (or Seollal 설날) is finally over. After two grueling days of cooking, I’m finally free of myeoneuri (daughter-in-law) duties. Seollal is the one of the most dreaded days of the DILs.  Aside from endless domestic chores, we also have to listen to endless jansori (잔소리, nagging) from the in-laws. Thankfully, my in-laws are not like that. They are very kind and soft-spoken. 😀

Every year since Mr. Kim and I got married, big holidays like Seollal and Chuseok (thanksgiving) were done in our small abode. I’m totally okay with this arrangement. I love cooking and hosting, but my rule is: Do not dictate me what food I will serve. True to our multicultural setting, this year I served pancit, caldereta and apple cake. (I was not able to take picture of the other foods that we served because everything was chaotic.) Delightedly, my in-laws loved everything. They ate a lot of caldereta and raved about the apple cake. 🙂

Seollal is a day of gift giving and receiving gifts. Last year, an acquaintance of Mr. Kim sent 2 boxes (20kg each) of apples. I don’t eat apples as is, although I love apple juice and apple pies, so I was pretty sure that I will end up cooking the apples. I was contemplating on making an apple jam… but, I actually forgot the reason why I did not proceed on doing that. Perhaps it was too much sugar? Or I just don’t jam with apple jam? Who knows. Anyway, I found a good recipe for apple cake from Crumbs Food.

Their recipe is super simple and easy to follow. I just had to lessen the sugar (cakes that punch you in the face with sugar isn’t our thing.) It was a good call because apples were already sweet as it is. Also, Mr. Kim liked that it was not that sweet. He is not into cakes and he doesn’t have a sweet tooth, so I was surprised when he actually finished half of the cake (I ate the other half of course) and asked me to bake some more for him.

 photo 10968590_10152543520152251_1765296067246564323_n_zpsia3ns9gi.jpg

After that, this became my go-to-recipe. This year, I received a box of apples from our office. Since my in-laws are coming, I was happy to serve another apple cake. They devoured it. The kids even brought home some of the apple cake. Yey!

I tweaked the original recipe from Crumbs Food, so here is my recipe:

Apple Cake

Ingredients:

550g apples (cut into cubes)

200g cake flour (박력 밀가루)

180g caster sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

120g of melted butter

3 medium sized eggs

1 1/2 tsp of baking powder

lemon juice

powdered sugar

How to make:

1. Peel and cut the apples. Add lemon juice and cinnamon then mix it. Set aside.

2. Combine and sift all remaining dry ingredients.

3. In another bowl, whisk eggs into the melted butter. (NOTE: make sure that your melted butter is not very hot, otherwise the eggs will cook. Continue whisking when pouring the egg. One good way to do this is to beat the eggs separately and the pour it in slowly to the melted butter.)

4. Going back to the dry ingredients, make a well in the center. Pour in the butter & egg mixture. Mix well until all the ingredients are well incorporated.

 photo IMG_5484_zpsnmf6m81b.jpg

5. Add in the apples.

 photo IMG_5485_zpsgvekzesm.jpg

6. Mix well until combined.

7. Line your baking pan with a baking paper. Then transfer the batter into the lined baking pan. (Notice that I used paper clips to make sure that the baking paper is in place. Just make sure to remove the clips before putting it in the oven.)

 photo 9e00d4a8-d12f-467c-926d-97088f3fbbd9_zps743wojyd.jpg

8. Bake it at 180 C for 45 minutes.

 photo IMG_5487_zps9wunz8ev.jpg

9. Let it cool for five minutes and sprinkle some powdered sugar on top.

 photo IMG_5494_zps9xe6jite.jpg

Tip: You may also add chopped walnuts or raisins!

 

I hope you’ll give this a try. Enjoy!

One thought on “LNY and Applecakes

Leave a Reply

