The Kims’ Burger

Couple of days ago, Mr. Kim surprised me with a Kitchen Aid mixer. O-M-G.

I’ve always dreamed of having one, but in Korea it is not very affordable (around $700). For this year, I’ve been saving to buy one (actually, I’m torn whether I should buy a new laptop or a kitchen aid mixer). Thanks to my dearest husband, I guess I can just continue saving to buy a new laptop. Teehee!

Excitedly, I browsed for cake and bread recipes that I can make using this mixer. (OMG. I’m a kitchen aid mixer owner. Uh-huh. Gosh, sorry. I’m just so giddy with excitement!) I’ve been binge watching The Great British Bake Off lately, and I am so thrilled that I can actually bake any of those pastries or bread more easily.

For our first kitchen aid mixer baking challenge, I decided to bake burger buns. You see, it is not very easy to find burger buns in Korea. Sure, there are burger buns in Costco stores but they are for wholesale and who would want to store three dozen burger buns in their fridge, right? Since Mr. Kim has been wanting to practice his burger art/skill ๐Ÿ˜› , burger buns it is!

Since this is my first try, I cannot actually change anything from the recipe. I have to follow it faithfully. For this bun, I chose Chef John of Foodwishes, my favorite youtube chef, hamburger bun recipe.

It came out perfectly. Just like what he described in the video. I’m so pleased!

 photo 3cb7647c-ba2a-4302-81b1-d8d24350a67d_zpsj5pfpvz4.jpg

My burger bun dough rose perfectly! It doubled in size. Hooray!

 photo ad538b0f-5313-4ef6-a468-1aa9f9eda890_zpsibgnqr4j.jpg

Burger buns before going in the oven. ๐Ÿ™‚

 photo 381bf797-813d-483f-9dfd-2deb258a7afa_zpsqxmutx1p.jpg

Tah dah! Oops, egg wash on the sides.

Mr. Kim made the burger patty, the cheese sauce and the salad to complete the meal. Unfortunately, he is not (yet) willing to share his recipe. Hahaha. I will blog about it later when I have convinced him to share. For now, he just wants you to know that each burger has 250g beef patty.

I’m re-posting Chef John’s burger bun recipe:

Ingredients for 8 large hamburger buns:

1 package (2 1/2 tsp) dry active yeast (I used Fleischmann’s โ€œRapidRiseโ€ Yeast)

1 cup very warm water

1 large egg

3 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons sugar

1 1/4 teaspoons salt

1 pound all-purpose flour (about 3 1/2 cups)

Note: add a 1/2 cup of the flour to the yeast and water, and then the remainder before kneading

for the tops:

1 egg beaten with 1 tbsp milk

sesame seeds

How to make:

  1. Line a baking sheet with a silicone mat or parchment paper.
  2. Place yeast into bowl of a large stand mixer; whisk in 1/2 cup flour and warm water until smooth. Let stand until mixture is foamy, 10 to 15 minutes.
  3. Whisk 1 egg, melted butter, sugar, and salt thoroughly into yeast mixture. Add remaining flour (about 3 cups).
  4. Fit a dough hook onto stand mixer and knead the dough on low speed until soft and sticky, 5 to 6 minutes. Scrape sides if needed. Poke and prod the dough with a silicone spatula; if large amounts of dough stick to the spatula, add a little more flour.
  5. Transfer dough onto a floured work surface; dough will be sticky and elastic but not stick to your fingers. Form the dough lightly into a smooth, round shape, gently tucking loose ends underneath.
  6. Wipe out stand mixer bowl, drizzle olive oil into the bowl, and turn dough over in the bowl several times to coat surface thinly with oil. Cover bowl with aluminum foil. Let dough rise in a warm place until doubled, about 2 hours.
  7. Transfer dough to a floured work surface and pat to flatten bubbles and form into a slightly rounded rectangle of dough about 5×10 inches and about 1/2 inch thick. Dust dough lightly with flour if needed. Cut dough into 8 equal pieces. Form each piece into a round shape, gently tucking ends underneath as before.
  8. Use your hands to gently pat and stretch the dough rounds into flat disc shapes about 1/2 inch thick. Arrange buns about 1/2 inch apart on prepared baking sheet. Dust buns very lightly with flour. Drape a piece of plastic wrap over the baking sheet (do not seal tightly). Let buns rise until doubled, about 1 hour.
  9. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  10. Beat 1 egg with milk in a small bowl, using a fork, until mixture is thoroughly combined. Very gently and lightly brush tops of buns with egg wash without deflating the risen dough. Sprinkle each bun with sesame seeds.
  11. Bake in the preheated oven until lightly browned on top, 15 to 17 minutes. Buns will stick together slightly where they touch. Let cool completely, tear the buns apart, and slice in half crosswise to serve.

Tips:

1. Read/watch the recipe twice. I almost put 2 tablespoons of yeast! Gladly, I realized my mistake while measuring it. So again, read the recipe TWICE, or even three times if you need to.

2. My oven is a multifunction oven, it also serves as a microwave oven. I discovered that when you turn on the microwave and heat the oven for just a minute (of course, you’ll have to turn it off before putting in the bowl of dough), this speeds up the proofing process of the bread. This way, the oven acts like a proofing drawer.

3. As mentioned on my previous post, there are different kinds of flour. In Korea, you can use the ๊ฐ•๋ ฅ ๋ฐ€๊ฐ€๋ฃจ. You can buy this at any supermarket in Korea. In my case though, I bought an imported organic bread flour at High Street Market. I just wanted to try another brand and see the difference.

4. Every oven is different. Learn and be friends with your oven. In my case, I have to turn my pans to get a somewhat evenly baked breads or cakes.

5. Believe in yourself. If others can do it, you can do it too. Aja!

I hope you give Chef John’s recipe and make your own burgers at home. Don’t go fast food, go slow and smell the roses… or the smell of freshly baked burger buns. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

