Back to Blogging and Chocolate Chips Cookies

I went on an emotional roller coaster ride for the past three weeks. A lot of things happened that I couldn’t get myself to write. I was emotionally drained and psychologically tortured by a witch. Right now, I’m still in the process of recovering from the emotional exhaustion (more like of a trauma) I underwent. Don’t worry though it has nothing to do with me and Mr Kim. We are doing great. ^^

I had so many things I wanted to blog about but I just didn’t have enough energy and motivation to put myself out there. Mr Kim encouraged me to go back to my blog to prevent myself from entertaining self-destructive thoughts. (Or probably he was just tired of me whining! hahaha. OMG I knew it.) Anyway, as promised, I will continue blogging. Weeks before being sucked into this office drama, I was happy baking chocolate chips. Mr Kim requested for it so that he can bragged to his co-workers. Hahaha!

The first “real” chocolate chips cookie I had in Korea was Bens Cookies. There’s a tiny Bens Cookies store near my workplace and I would frequent it when I’m craving (which was often). However, I have to be honest. While it is undeniable that their cookies are superb, their price range was just steep for a working girl like me and it was overwhelmingly sweet that my sweet tooth got cavities. Hihihi. (Nah, I have to admit I have been eating too much!)

Back in high school, I remember reading about a chocolate cookies recipe in one of the women’s magazine.  Since then, I was fascinated with the idea that you can actually make chocolate chips cookies at home. So now that I can bake, after months of researching for the best chocolate chips cookies recipe, I have came up with my own chocolate chips cookies recipe. This recipe is pretty simple and straight forward, I usually do this at least one day ahead.

Chocolate Chips Cookies Recipe

Ingredients:

Basic ingredients for making the best chocolate chips cookies πŸ˜€

110g of unsalted butter (SOFTENED)

45g granulated sugar

90g brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

170g all purpose flour (λ°•λ ₯밀가루)

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

110g semi-sweet chocolate chips

80g walnuts

How to make:

1. In a bowl mix softened unsalted butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar. Cream until nice and fluffy. You may use a regular hand mixer or a stand mixer. In my case, I used my stand mixer with the paddle attachment. Keep mixing until it is light and fluffy.

2. In a separate bowl, beat the egg and add in the vanilla extract.

3. Add the egg mixture to the butter and sugar mixture. Add it gradually.

4. Sift in flour, baking soda, and salt and mix it with the butter-egg mixture. Continue mixing until everything is well incorporated. (You have to scrape the sides of the bowl to make sure that everything is completely mixed.)

5. Mix the chocolate chips! And walnuts! (Make sure that the walnuts are bite sized. I had to smash them a bit to get tiny pieces.)

6. At this point, I put the cookie dough inside the fridge and leave it there for at least one day. (Of course, you would have to seal the bowl with a cling wrap.) By doing this, the dry ingredients will have enough time to soak up the wet ingredients. Especially in Korea, where good butter is hard to find, I find that my cookies are much firmer and chewier when I do this. Also, I get better looking cookies πŸ˜€ You may also want to scoop it ahead of time and chill them, but we don’t have much room in our fridge so I just went ahead and but the whole bowl in. (Others suggest to leave it for more than 2 days, but for me it is too soft. I want  chewier cookies, so I am sticking to my 24 hour-chilling rule.)

7. When you are now ready to bake (which is after 24 hours), preheat your oven to 170 C.

8. Line your baking pans with a parchment paper. Scoop your dough and place it on the lined baking pans. Make sure that you have enough space between the cookie dough. You may want to use your hands to have a perfect ball shape – but I couldn’t be bothered because I’m lazy like that. Hahaha

These were the last batches of cookie dough. They aren’t the perfect ball-shaped cookie dough but they came out decent-looking after baking. So don’t worry!

9. Bake at 170 C for 10 minutes.

10. Place in a cooling rack for about 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Tips:

1. Make sure that your walnuts don’t have peels. If they do, remove completely.

2. Make sure that you have enough space between the cookie dough. Some of my cookie dough rolled over when I was putting them in the oven so some of them stuck to each other. (My oven is placed on a higher shelf – which a 5’1” girl like me has a hard time reaching. -_- )

3. If you are going to use salted butter (ones that are readily available in any supermarkets in Korea) skip on putting salt. HOWEVER, I strongly suggest that you use unsalted butter. You can buy it at foreign food supermarkets like High Street Market in Itaewon or order it via internet. Coupang always have them on stock. Unsalted butter in Korean is called “무염버터” (muyeom butteo).

I hope you’ll give this recipe a try! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

